The Colony

This property is marketed by

MyPlace

Member Since: 7 months
9760345361`

Details

Last Updated On: January 13th, 2023 at 12:46 am
Management Rating
3.7
Quality Rating
4.0
Average Rent
363
Top Tags
Property ID:PT-2910-AXZR

Similar Listings

22
Jan 27, 2023
Run down, Dating potential, Safe

Management
2.0
Management isn't very helpful and the cleaning checks are super wack but it's not a big

problem because there are not many interactions with management. No decorations allowed outside the apartment like on the door or porch.

see more
Quality
3.0
They are a little old and it's annoying because the rooms are different sizes but everyone

pays the same price.

see more
Anonymous 34
Oct 26, 2022
Responsive management, 10/10 would recommend, Poor management
Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500s, when an unknown printer took a galley of type and scrambled it to make a type specimen book. It has survived not only five centuries,

but also the leap into electronic typesetting, remaining essentially unchanged. It was popularised in the 1960s with the release of Letraset sheets containing Lorem Ipsum passages, and more recently with desktop publishing software like Aldus PageMaker including versions of Lorem Ipsum

see more
Management
3.0
Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been

the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500s, when an unknown printer took a galley of type and scrambled it to make a type specimen book. It has survived not only five centuries, but also the leap into electronic typesetting, remaining essentially unchanged. It was popularised in the 1960s with the release of Letraset sheets containing Lorem Ipsum passages, and more recently with desktop publishing software like Aldus PageMaker including versions of Lorem Ipsum

see more
Quality
3.0
Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been

the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500s, when an unknown printer took a galley of type and scrambled it to make a type specimen book. It has survived not only five centuries, but also the leap into electronic typesetting, remaining essentially unchanged. It was popularised in the 1960s with the release of Letraset sheets containing Lorem Ipsum passages, and more recently with desktop publishing software like Aldus PageMaker including versions of Lorem Ipsum

see more
anuj 34
Oct 26, 2022
Responsive management, Nothing to write home about, Inconvenient location
nkjl

Management
1.0
kj

Quality
1.0
gfbngfc

Anonymous 34
Oct 19, 2022
Nothing to write home about Old Worth the money
t is a long established fact that a reader will be distracted by the readable content of a page when looking at its layout. The point of using Lorem Ipsum is that it has a more-or-less normal distribution of letters, as opposed to using 'Content here, content here', making it

look like readable English. Many desktop publishing packages and web page editors now use Lorem Ipsum as their default model text, and a search for 'lorem ipsum' will uncover many web sites still in their infancy. Various versions have evolved over the years, sometimes by accident, sometimes on purpose (injected humour and the like).

see more
Management
4.0
t is a long established fact that a reader will be distracted by the readable content

of a page when looking at its layout. The point of using Lorem Ipsum is that it has a more-or-less normal distribution of letters, as opposed to using 'Content here, content here', making it look like readable English. Many desktop publishing packages and web page editors now use Lorem Ipsum as their default model text, and a search for 'lorem ipsum' will uncover many web sites still in their infancy. Various versions have evolved over the years, sometimes by accident, sometimes on purpose (injected humour and the like).

see more
Quality
3.0
t is a long established fact that a reader will be distracted by the readable content

of a page when looking at its layout. The point of using Lorem Ipsum is that it has a more-or-less normal distribution of letters, as opposed to using 'Content here, content here', making it look like readable English. Many desktop publishing packages and web page editors now use Lorem Ipsum as their default model text, and a search for 'lorem ipsum' will uncover many web sites still in their infancy. Various versions have evolved over the years, sometimes by accident, sometimes on purpose (injected humour and the like).

see more
Tyler 24
Sep 28, 2022
Safe, 10/10 would recommend, Great location
The Colony is a weird suburb like experience that has actually been one of my favorite places to live at byu. It's really social since you'll see everyone outside in their concrete stair porches like a Midwestern middle class neighborhood. The downsides however: the management is not bad, but kinda

scatterbrained at times, and there are no private rooms (at least not for men, idk about women's contracts) so there isn't always a lot of space.

see more
Management
3.0
They get the basics dinner, but Jason the landlord, can be hard to contact and I

often feel left in the dark a little bit.

see more
Quality
4.0
The rooms in the 6 man apartments are a little cramped, but it's not terrible and

the living room space is actually pretty sizeable and useful! There are not private rooms however. 1 of the rooms in the 6 man apartments should honestly be a private room, not shared. Other than that, the appliances are up to date, the furniture is good, and the apartments aren't run down!

see more
Elissa 21
Sep 13, 2022
10/10 would recommend, Responsive management, Get ready to party
I’ve only been here for a few weeks but the people are the best and the facilities are really nice! There are Pickleball courts, a basketball court, and sand volleyball court, and a pool/hot tub. The only downsides are that there is one shower for 6 people and there isn’t

in apt laundry.

see more
Management
5.0
They are great at helping with major problems and moving in. They don’t have tons of

open hours but you can call/email the office whenever.

see more
Quality
4.0
There is only one shower for 6 people and the apts can be a little run

down- but they were renovated fairly recently so there aren’t tons of problems.

see more
Heather 22
Jun 27, 2022
Worth the money, Best in town
Fantastic and plenty of parking, biggest shared rooms (4 person), social and friendly environment! It might seem like you’re living in army barracks but this is the best place I have lived in in Provo!

Management
3.0
Management only open 3-6

Quality
5.0
Large living spaces and apartments in general. They are older, but worth it

Quinn 21
Jun 24, 2022
Worth the money, Safe, Dating potential
Good parking. Nice and friendly people. Fun to be outside around the complex.

Management
4.0
Never any issues with management, also nothing special.

Quality
4.0
Older, but spacious. Everything works, which is great!

Hannah 23
Dec 02, 2021
Worth the money, Get ready to party, Best in town
Overall it’s been a good experience. The apartment isn’t super nice or anything but the social aspect and living room is why I stay. The ridiculous part though is that everyone pays the sam price even though there are 3 different sized rooms

Management
2.0
They don’t really fix what you need done. They max do something to fix it temporarily,

but seem very cheap in what they do for fixing things. We pay rent but they can’t use any of the ton of money they have to keep the hot tub running during the winter?

see more
Quality
3.0
Not the greatest apartments I’ve lived in, but not the worst. Could use quite a bit

of updating.

see more
Delbert 23
Nov 29, 2021
Worth the money, Safe, Dating potential
I enjoy it, and want to keep living here.

Management
4.0
Friendly, although the office is only open a few hours per day, and only during school

hours.

see more
Quality
3.0
A little old, but management is pretty good about staying on top of urgent repairs

Austin 23
Nov 27, 2021
Worth the money, Great location, Old
The Colony is relatively inexpensive as far as Provo apartments go, and while my unit is certainly a bit dated, I think the circumstances here are ideal for students. There's a friendly and open culture amongst the neighboring units in the complex; a pickleball, basketball, volleyball court and pool/hot tub

area offer a lot to do; the location allows for a 10 or 15 minute walk to BYU campus; parking space is ample. I think my biggest complaint with the Colony would the very restricted office hours; along with that, sometimes it can take some time to receive a response to emails (this was especially a concern while applying to live here). Additionally, the Colony does supply internet through ethernet cables, but it does not offer wifi as an option. All in all, I think this is a good deal.

see more
Management
3.0
Management is cordial and kind, albeit sometimes difficult to get a hold of.

Quality
3.0
The apartments could be renovated, although that would definitely raise the pricing, so for this price

I'd say it's appropriately dated.

see more
Hayden 21
Nov 27, 2021
Worth the money, Great location, Run down
I like the Colony, although the apartments are pretty run down. The good thing is that maintenance is responsive and generally fix things fast.

Management
4.0
The management is pretty nice, although I haven't had much contact with them.

Quality
4.0
The apartments are old, and don't really compare to other apartments I have been to in

terms of quality and newness.

see more
Preston 23
Nov 27, 2021
Worth the money, Get ready to party, Old
I think the Colony is an awesome place to live. Overall I've been very happy with what I have. The management is fun and reasonable which is so hard to find in Provo. The only things I would change are related to the age and layout of the apartment, but

they are pretty minor things and I like the Colony a lot overall!

see more
Management
4.0
For the most part they do great, although there have been multiple times when I've emailed

and had no response so I've had to go in and talk with them in person.

see more
Quality
4.0
For the money it's pretty unbeatable. Yes it's old but you get a lot of great

stuff for what you are paying.

see more
Jessica 23
Nov 25, 2021
10/10 would recommend, Get ready to party, Dating potential
I LOVE living at The Colony! It is the only place I have ever lived that feels like a neighborhood family. Everyone has their own little lawn and people sit outside and socialize all the time. It just really facilitates a welcoming community.

Management
3.0
The management is good, but they are pretty old school. You still play with a check

and the office is only open 3 hours a day. But they are very kind and understanding.

see more
Quality
4.0
For BYU college housing I think it's great. It's not too dirty and the layout is

nice in the 4 man rooms. The heating and cooling can be difficult with the multiple levels.

see more
James 22
Nov 22, 2021
Worth the money, Great location, Dating potential
Besides old carpet and couches, it's a great place. I've enjoyed the space. Each of the 3 rooms are different sizes. The small one is tight but the other two are great!

Management
5.0
I'd say management does their job. Nobodies perfect and students can expect a lot but they

keep the place nice.

see more
Quality
4.0
I'd love to see some new couches and carpet ;)

Jacob 24
Nov 22, 2021
Great location, Responsive management, Old
The Colony is great! The management team is spectacular and very reasonable. The buildings are a bit old, but that's to be expected. It's super close to campus and nice quality overall. The rooms and storage are a bit small so you can't have too much stuff with you, but

you never feel cramped. Great social area, and fun environment.

see more
Management
5.0

Quality
4.0

Alannah 22
Nov 21, 2021
Worth the money, Great location, Best in town
I truthfully have loved living here! Out of all of the housing in Provo that I’ve lived in, I’ll stand by saying this is one of the better options. The main issues that arose during my time living here had to do with management.

Management
3.0
It’s extremely frustrating that the office is only open 3 hours a day, and during times

that many of the residents are still in classes or at work. The other main thing was cleaning checks.. they have the same people that they hire to clean the apartments after we “fail” come in to clean them (big conflict of interest, if you ask me) & them the cleaning crew comes in & spends about one minute cleaning each thing & it looks exactly how it looked when I cleaned it. Then I get charged for it! Plus, please get a better system for paying rent. The online website is kinda sketchy, and it would be nice to have an app like other apartment complexes where it tells you how much you owe that month. That would be super helpful!

see more
Quality
3.0
We had several maintenance issues during our residency, and that mostly has to do with the

fact that these apartments are pretty old. Cracks in the walls, flooding, burst pipes, etc. Like I said, it’s mostly just because the buildings are so old. Also, you can here your upstairs & next-door neighbors having conversations from inside their apartments. The walls are very thin!

see more
Michelle 23
Nov 20, 2021
Safe, Great location, Dating potential
It's pretty social here and great ward! Management is fairly good at getting back to you (a lot better than other places). There is a lot of kitchen space. The floors creak a lot.

Management
4.0

Quality
4.0

Elliot 21
Nov 20, 2021
Worth the money, Safe, Great location
I feel right at home here at the Colony. The environment is a very happy and uplifting one, which is a blessing because I was unsure of how I was going to fit in since this is my first semester here at the Colony. The apartments have sufficient room in

them for the most part (except one of the rooms that I'm in which is the smallest one and somewhat crowded). And all of the appliances are working great, so I am living comfortably.

see more
Management
5.0

Quality
5.0

Ashley 21
Nov 20, 2021
Safe, Great location, Poor management
Wifi is super slow and kind of sad that the pool/grill area is only open during the spring and summer but very social place

Management
2.0
Management is slow to get back to anyone in the apartment and rarely ever help us

with the changes we request or the problem we experience

see more
Quality
3.0

Tanner 25
Nov 20, 2021
Worth the money, Safe, Great location
Overall I’ve enjoyed my time here are the colony. The people are friendly and the location is convenient for students attending BYU. The Main Street is separate from public roads so it creates a neighborhood-like environment. Compared to other student housing in provo, parking is exceptional and residents can almost

always expect to have a convenient parking spot available. Rent is somewhat reasonable and the apartments are comfortable places for young single adults. Overall very satisfied with my experience here

see more
Management
4.0
Overall the management is very friendly and tries their best to help tenets out. The office

is only open from 3-6, which isn’t very convenient for students that are often on campus during that time. The office seems a little understaffed and could potentially benefit from some additional staff members so there can be more open office hours. It sometimes takes a while for maintenance to come by for repairs after submitting a request.

see more
Quality
3.0
The Colony leaves something to be desired in terms of convenience/quality. My main complain is with

the laundry room. I think the Colony is one of the only apartments left in provo that require quarters to operate their machines. I think they should prioritize updating the machines with card swipes in addition to the quarter slots. Also there are often some machines not functioning, which is quite annoying given there are already so little machines for everyone to use. The website is also very outdated and could be a lot more useful. You can put rent electronically, but I wish there was some communication regarding how much residents owe for rent, parking permits and other additional fees. It would be nice to have a history of payments so tenants can know that they don’t have any charges from the Colony.

see more
Janae 28
Nov 20, 2021
Worth the money, Safe, 10/10 would recommend
The Colony is a great place to live. The apartments are getting a little old, but maintenance is great at coming to fix things, and each apartment has a little lawn in front of it.

Management
5.0
Lived here for a couple years and never had any problems with management.

Quality
5.0
Close to BYU campus and downtown Provo. Also close to a park and trails

Maddie 22
Nov 20, 2021
Worth the money, Great location, Best in town
I love the Colony! Great location in terms of proximity to campus and super condusive to socializing, definitely the best environment at any complex I've lived in so far. The apartments themselves aren't the newest, but function well and are average for Provo housing. The 4-person apartments have large bedrooms

and ample kitchen/living/storage space, though the wifi can be spotty. I would definitely recommend!!

see more
Management
4.0
The management is great, albiet overwhelmed with the amount of requests. They do what the can

however and are super kind!

see more
Quality
5.0

Luke 23
Nov 20, 2021
Safe, Great location, Old
I really like the colony apartments. The main problems I have is first, rent prices skyrocketed from last year. Second, there is no software for me to check on the status of rent payments or other fees that I owe. I just have to hope that I'm paying the correct

amount every month.

see more
Management
4.0
They are very friendly but not super quick on in-apartment repairs. There are some things that

take a while to fix.

see more
Quality
4.0
The main inconvenience is not having a washer and dryer in our apartment, but aside from

that everything is pretty nice.

see more
Kaitlin 24
Nov 20, 2021
Great location, Poor management, Get ready to party
Love the social environment and the property is pretty up to date. Difficult to get a hold of office and management and anyone.

Management
2.0
Just pretty unavailable

Quality
2.0
Parking very convenient. I hate the payment system. It should be updated by now.

Spencer 23
Nov 19, 2021
10/10 would recommend, Great location, Dating potential
The culture and community is what makes the colony a wonderful place to live.

Management
4.0

Quality
5.0

Rachel 21
Nov 19, 2021
Safe, Great location, Old
I love the location and the people and the social aspect. The people are friendly. I get along with everyone who lives here. The apartments are old. I live in the smallest of the 3 rooms and it is half the size of the largest room so it seems unfair

that we are paying the same amount in rent. Maintenance is slow to come and often don't fully fix the problems

see more
Management
2.0
They are slow to come fix things when they are broken

Quality
4.0
Close to campus - great especially for engineering majors since it is close to the EB.

Ryan 21
Nov 19, 2021
Worth the money, Great location, Get ready to party
Great place. Lots of parking and the apartment itself is pretty big. It’s been a good time. The only that is kind of annoying is that there’s only 1.5 bathrooms so sometimes it takes a while to get a shower in but usually it isn’t a problem

Management
3.0
Good for the most part but sometimes it’s hard to get maintenance requests fulfilled

Quality
5.0
I love how much parking there is and it’s pretty close to campus. Love the way

it’s spread out too.

see more
Isaiah 24
Nov 19, 2021
Worth the money, Safe, Great location
I actually love living at the Colony. It’s been one of my favorite places to live at so far, and one of the nicest things is the parking. I never have to park far away, and there’s always a place to park, and each apartment has its own lawn which

is cool. They’re like mini condos basically. Also the rooms in the four person apartment are huge! The only downside is that there’s only one bathroom in the four person apartment so if someone’s using it, you’re basically screwed. It would’ve been nice if they got rid of one of this one little space in the living room and converted it to a bathroom because it’s such an awkward area. Also, the bottom apartments can hear everything upstairs which is another downfall. Sometimes I’ll be doing something important, and the people upstairs are so loud, it sounds as if they’re in my room. However, I’ve been a blessing to live here.

see more
Management
4.0
Over the phone and through email, they can be hard to reach. However, if you just

go to the office during their hours, you can literally talk to them and they’ll get right on what you ask them for so no complaints there. They’re all really nice. We did have some issues with our AC for almost the whole summer, and they kept sending someone to try to fix it which was nice. But they weren’t really equipped to handle the issue we were having, so it would’ve been nice if they just paid someone to just go fix that right away. Management has been good though besides those few things.

see more
Quality
5.0
Living in the Colony is really convenient. It’s not too far from campus and there’s always

good parking. There’s a lot of outdoor space as well, so it never really feels cramped. The only complaint of inconvenience is the one bathroom downstairs but there’s not really much you can do about that.

see more
Layne 21
Nov 19, 2021
Safe, Great location, Responsive management
great spot south of campus. Plenty of parking. It feels like its own little neighborhood, and is a great atmosphere. Everyone seems to know everyone

Management
3.0

Quality
4.0

Data not found yet

Custom info

Complex Amenities
Laundry, Pool, Hot Tub, Sufficient Parking, Pickleball, Volleyball, Basketball
In Unit Ammenities
Well-Furnished, Heating/AC, Sufficient Storage
Office Hours
<p class="font_8">Mon – Fri: 3:00pm – 6:00pm<br>Sat - Sun: Closed</p>
State
UT
Contracts Available
0
Walk to Campus
19
Complex Phone Number
8013745446
Complex Website
Link
Average Total Cost
363
Overall Rating
4.1
Convinence Rating
4.0
Social Rating
4.5
Management Rating
3.7
Application Link
Link
BYU Reference
db4817a3-9314-40c9-9305-1521693391a7
Complex Respond Access User
1
Compare Properties
Add properties to compare.